Thursday Reading

Hey! You!  Yeah, you, down the street there.

Don’t hide from me, I won’t bite. Craggle Wobbletop, at your service! I sell toys! You like toys, don’t you?

Oh.

You want epic PvP gear? You can go to Old Town for that.

Oh, you want epic raiding gear? Oh. Old Town for that, too.

How about a Paper Zeppelin? They don’t give you repair bills.

No?

Oh.

How about some blog posts to read, then?

  • I could link to pretty much every post that Lara does over at Root and Branch, but I think you’ll enjoy A License to Print Money, which is about leveling entirely through PvP and the unexpected benefits (and drawbacks!) of that process.
  • Zinn has a great post about the virtue of patience and Paragon’s H-25 Rag kill. This, so many times this. Patience, perseverance – these are the way to success.
  • Icedragon rebuilds her UI for Cataclysm with some beautiful results. I love how she customizes each one for each character.
  • Fulguralis has a nice post up about Warlock Trinkets, a subject near and dear to many of your hearts. Also, he wrote a book! Check it out!
  • This is an older post, but Onike talks about Teamwork and the shift of PvP philosophy between Seasons 8 and 10.
  • Vidyala has a problem with achievements. Achievements are an interesting compulsion. I should write more about my own issues with them.
  • Anexxia has a bittersweet piece of short fiction up about her own stepping back from raiding, in A Sort of Homecoming in Brill.
  • Speaking of the undead, Rades’s undead DK has a problem with her plate mail bikini. I don’t like it because it doesn’t match, but Rades has some more to say about it than just that. 🙂
  • Psynister takes on Trial Account Twink Professions with his usual depth and insight. (c.f. GTG’s article for an introduction to the concept).
  • Razz over at Planet of the Hats talks about Raiding Fatigue, which is hitting home for a lot of players right now. Spinks has a related, insightful post on Auction House burnout.
  • Zel has a very funny non-WoW piece up on Twigisms. For the WoW parents out there.
  • Syl talks about wiping expansions off the table, something I’ve been thinking about recently. I think there’s a larger discussion to be had here about the expansion model, the concept of endgame, and how we interact with “content.”
  • I rather enjoyed listening to Ophelie and Oestrus on the latest episode of the Double O podcast, with Vidyala and Vosskah. That podcast is picking up steam quickly.
  • In something that has become all too common, Beru considers walking away from Warcraft in The Straw. I have a lot of sympathy for Beru, as you’ll see in the comments.
  • On a sadder note, Alas takes a few pages from the Complete Guide to Not Giving a Fuck and is taking a break from blogging. I’ve enjoyed her WoW Pride and Prejudice posts for some time, and while I’m sad to see them stop, I’m glad to see people take control of their lives. This is a game, it should be fun.
  • And finally, my good friend Psynister talks about his challenges in staying motivated to play Warcraft in Three-Legged Stools. This is a tough time for players right now, and Psynister paints a great picture of his struggles with the game.

If you follow me on Twitter, you may have noticed that I’ve started a blogging experiment on Posterous – Cynwise’s Field Notes – for shorter, more informal posts. To quote the introduction:

I take a lot of pride in the posts that go up on my main websites, but they tend to be big – really big – and I also try to keep them very topical. It’s a good thing to be topical and thorough, but for a while now I’ve wanted a more informal place to post, someplace without a lot of bells and whistles, with a little more room than Twitter but without the pressure of focus that both CBM and GTG have.

Like my field notes, this is very much an experiment. I’m at a strange place with Warcraft now, so I offer no guarantees about content or direction. I like Posterous (really neat interface!) but it’s no WordPress replacement. This is just a simple little site that takes my emails and turns them into posts.

I’m not moving, but I am definitely keeping CBM focused on PvP, warlockery, and other guides. I have no idea where I’m going with CFN, but … well, I hope you find some of the posts interesting.

Enjoy!

10 Comments

Filed under Cynwise's Battlefield Manual, Links

10 responses to “Thursday Reading

  1. Great collection of recent blog reads, thanks for the link! 😀 (Also, I have to admit I was aghast how much the armor clashed, besides the skimpy factor. BRIGHT YELLOW??)

    • I had a bunch of tabs open, and was like – this will be a nice, SHORT post.

      /facepalm

      I found your post, and perspective, interesting. It’s making me think a lot about my own choices with toons. It’s a subject with a lot more depth than just “this is too sexy/impractical.”

  2. Ooo new blogs to read! Thanks, but I think it is going to take some time to get through them all though. I have just started following your blog here at Cynwise’s Battlefield Manual and cant wait for more PvP info. I didnt know about the field notes, so I will have to take a look at that too.

    I have my work cut out for me!

  3. Thanks for the link, Cyn! I saw it and thought, “Gosh, I was just THINKING about writing a PvP post… Is Cyn pre-linking posts from my brain!?” 😉

    • You’re very welcome. I am now looking forward to your PvP post! Yay PvP! Yay mind reading!

      (Oh, wait. Wasn’t supposed to say that out loud.)

  4. Syl

    Cheers for the linkage, Cynwise!
    I was actually thinking of a similar round-up this week with quite a few same recommendations in there as yours – seems now I don’t need to do that anymore! =) and indeed, I’d love to see more discussions on alternative content delivery systems for MMOs, I am really tired of expansions these days.

    • Ha! Sorry to have spoiled your post, then. 🙂

      I meant what I said, I’m really intrigued by the idea of how to do away with expansions in an MMO. Wouldn’t it be interesting if you made raiding gear highly specific – say, BC gear is great against Demons and maybe elementals, Wrath gear against undead – so that you found yourself raiding specific tiers to improve your abilities against that particular challenge, not just to generically increase in power? Like, say raiding gear is Good gear overall, but Superb against one type of creature – so folks would say, hey, this gear that dropped in MC – still good in Firelands, but maybe there’s anti-Elemental gear from T11 that works better. Or, MC is still really hard, if you don’t have that gear let’s gear up in Firelands for anti-Fire Elemental gear.

      Just one way to stave off the whole “raid decay” problem. Thinking out loud here. 🙂

  5. My thanks for the comments, Cynwise! I intend to keep updating that piece of nonsense over at fan fiction – I can certainly shoot you a link if you like. Though if and when I feel I can blog for better reasons I’ll certainly finish posting it at kma.