Resilience Scaling in Warcraft Patch 4.0.6 and You

So on my most recent post about optimizing your gear for PvP, Nadilli left a comment saying:

Resil works in a way different to most stats. The more you have, the better your next point of resiliance works (the ammount increases exponentially). Ie. a character gains more of an effect from resilliance if they have 3400 points of resil than if they have 0.

I disagreed with that comment, because I’m an idiot who doesn’t always think things through, and have reading comprehension fail syndrome, just like the rest of the internet. My response was correct in that the scaling provided by Resilience is linear – which is correct – but I’m completely, totally wrong in that the effect of it is linear – because it’s not.

That’s confusing. Let me explain.

Resilience is funky. Let’s just start with that. Resilience has always been funky, will probably always be funky, and claims that Resilience Will Fix It ignore the fact that Resilience is a funky stat.

This post on the forums helps describe the problem. Each point of Resilience will grant the same amount of damage reduction to you, which makes sense – at level 85, every 100 points of Resilience grants you a little more than 1% reduction of incoming player damage. That’s the linear part. It’s increasing player survivability where Resilience becomes exponential.

Here’s the example used:

  • The attacker is trying to do 100k damage with an attack that does 10k damage. If the defender has 0% Resilience, the attacker needs 10 attacks to kill the defender.
  • If the defender has 10% Resilience, a 10k hit now hits for 9k, which means the attacker will need to do 11.11 attacks to kill the defender. Resilience saved the defender from 1.11 attacks.
  • If the defender has 20% Resilience, a 10k hit now hits for 8k, which requires 12.5 attacks. Resilience saved the defender from 2.5 attacks.
  • At 40% Resilience, the attacks are now hitting for 6k, which means the attacker needs 16.66 of them, which means that the defender is saved from 6.66 attacks.

Each 10% is providing a flat increase to the amount of damage reduced, which is logical and linear. But player survivability increases exponentially with Resilience, which is where confusion sets in. Linear application with exponential effect.

This is changing in 4.1, according to the PTR notes:

Resilience scaling has been modified for linear returns, as opposed to increasing returns. Under the new formula, going from 30 resilience to 40 resilience gives players the same increase to survivability as going from 0 to 10. Resilience now scales in the same way armor and magic resistances do. A player with 32.5% damage reduction from resilience in 4.0.6 should see their damage reduction unchanged in 4.1. Those with less than 32.5% will gain slightly. Those with more will lose some damage reduction, increasingly so as their resilience climbs.

We’ll have to see how the math on this shakes out – I’ve seen some reports that the new scaling on the PTR is buggy and not working as intended, so it’s hard to say how the curve will look.

I think it’s safe to say that player survivability will go down a bit with this change in the higher PvP brackets, and that while gemming and enchanting for Resilience will still be viable, it will be less viable than it is now past about 3.1k.

Thanks to Nadilli and Xylotism for setting me straight on this.

15 Comments

Filed under Cynwise's Battlefield Manual

15 responses to “Resilience Scaling in Warcraft Patch 4.0.6 and You

  1. Elysiane

    I understood the numbers example you gave for how things currently are, but I don’t really understand how it will be after the patch. Is the long and short of it that resilience will basically be on DR?

    I worry for what this will mean for survivability, tbh. I don’t want things to go back to WotLK levels. 😦

    • I agree, it’s confusing what the 4.1 changes will be. I would put it as: resilience as a stat will go from a flat stat to one with diminishing returns, and player survivability will go from an increasing returns to a flat stat. This will make a few pieces of resil gear more effective than they are now, while stacking it will become less effective.

      And yeah, I’m worried about damage scaling, too. It’s already scaling hard against the fixed health pools. Resilience won’t fix it.

      Let’s see how it shakes out.

  2. I dunno, I’ve been able to win 50-75% of my games at sub-2.6k resilience… without having any particular team (usually arms warr + shadow priest) and not much arena experience.

    If that’s any indicator of how much resil currently affects survivability, I don’t think it’ll make much difference after the patch… people under ~3.1k will see improvements, I think.

    I dunno, I’ve never really been worried about my survivability… as long as the team isn’t being locked down with stuns and sheeps, I can generally expect to live for a reasonable amount of time, depending on what the other team’s doing.

  3. I think what Blizzard is pushing here is a change from the player with the most resil, to the player with the most skill winning. However, it’s not really working. The obvious problem with that fact, is that as things are now, a player can hop into PvP with largely PvE gear, and still do reasonably well.

    That’s wrong. I wouldn’t raid in PvP gear, they shouldn’t be running Rated BGs in raid gear. While making resilience the be-all-and-end-all of stat for PvPers is not the answer, further reducing its effectiveness isn’t either.

  4. stan

    Thank you for the clarification for those of us that aren’t totally on top of this stuff.

  5. nadilli

    /sees name
    /dances

  6. I read something very, very similar back in wrath when everyone was all confused about ArPen (and by everyone, I mean melee classes, and not those Esteemed Of Us Who Mostly Stand In the Back and Shoot Fire) that explained that your first point of armor was much more important than your thousandth point, and so conversely ArPen which took away armor was more valuable the more you had of it — because you were initially just taking off that top, less-valuable slice of armor, but as you started cutting deeper and deeper you were taking progressively more.

    A highly (and possibly over-)simplified version : if I take away 1% of your armor, you’re down to 99% and I’ve removed 1% of your defenses. If I’ve already knocked you down to 20% of your armor, and take away another 1%, I’ve now taken out 5% of what you had left (1/20). Proportionally speaking taking away 1% from 20 was 5 times as valuable as taking the same amount away from 100.

    Sounds awfully similar to what you’re describing here with resilience, in reverse of course.

    • You know… Armor Penetration finally makes sense to me. Woah.

      Guess I had to understand it backwards from everyone else – thanks, Ihra!

  7. Pingback: The Currency Conversions of Warcraft Patch 4.1 | Cynwise's Battlefield Manual

  8. Pingback: Battleground Changes in 4.1 | Cynwise's Battlefield Manual

  9. David

    I know it is an old post. But I am still confused. Correct me if I am wrong; will this means there is a cap on resilience now? My resto shaman, for example, now has 4180 resilience, should I gem differently (leaving resilience out) from now on? Thanks!

    • No, there is no cap on it. There is a point where it starts being less effective, but there doesn’t appear to be a reachable cap.

      Gemming for Resilience is still a good strategy.

  10. Pingback: Valor and Vengeance: Rethinking Resilience | Cynwise's Battlefield Manual